Now Available Online!


Track List

  1. Bach: Sonata No. 1 in G minor, BWV 1001 - I. Adagio
  2. Bach: Sonata No. 1 in G minor, BWV 1001 - II. Fuga - Allegro
  3. Bach: Sonata No. 1 in G minor, BWV 1001 - III. Siciliana
  4. Bach: Sonata No. 1 in G minor, BWV 1001 - IV. Presto
  5. Bartok: Sonata for solo violin, Sz 117 - I. Tempo di ciaccona
  6. Bartok: Sonata for solo violin, Sz 117 - II. Fuga - Risoluto
  7. Bartok: Sonata for solo violin, Sz 117 - III. Melodia - Adagio
  8. Bartok: Sonata for solo violin, Sz 117 - IV. Presto
  9. Augusta Read Thomas: Pulsar
  10. Augusta Read Thomas: Incantation
  11. Augusta Read Thomas: Caprice
  12. Augusta Read Thomas: Rush

Nathan Cole

Nathan Cole is a member of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra's first violin section. Prior to his appointment in 2002, he served for two seasons as principal second violin of the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra. A native of Lexington, Kentucky, he began his studies with Donna Wiehe and continued with Daniel Mason. His solo debut came at the age of ten with the Louisville Orchestra. He received a Bachelor of Music from the Curtis Institute of Music, where he studied with Pamela Frank, Felix Galimir, Ida Kavafian and Jaime Laredo. Nathan’s love for chamber music flourished at Curtis, and in 1998 he became the founding first violinist of the Grancino String Quartet, which won the 2000 Barnett Competition in Chicago and participated in the 2000 Isaac Stern Chamber Music Encounters in Jerusalem. The Quartet made its New York debut in Carnegie’s Weill Hall in 2002. Nathan’s chamber music activities also include three summers at the Marlboro Music Festival, along with national tours as part of Music From Marlboro. In 2007 he helped begin the UBS Chamber Music Festival of Lexington in his hometown, serving as violinist and Music Director.

Nathan enjoys a variety of teaching activities. A faculty member of the Chicago College of Performing Arts at Roosevelt University since 2006, he also maintains a private studio and coaches the Chicago Civic Orchestra. Since 2003 he has taught and performed at the Mimir Festival on the campus of Texas Christian University in Fort Worth. He lives in Chicago with his wife Akiko Tarumoto, also a first violinist in the CSO.


Album Available Online at These Fine Stores:


Also Available at:



Time Out - Chicago
Copious Notes

Other Links of Interest:

Nathan Cole
Nathan Cole's Blog at InstantEncore
Augusta Read Thomas